11 teams qualify for the 2017 World Championship


2 February 2016

Following the European, African and Asian 2016 Championships at the end of January, nine teams have qualified for the 2017 World Championships that will take place in France from 11th to the 19th of January 2017.

The three highest placed teams in Euro 2016 held in Poland (from the 15th to the 31st of January 2016), automatically qualify for the next World Championships; and now, we know who the three lucky teams are:  Germany (1st), Spain (2nd) and Croatia (3rd).

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Japan qualified last week at the Asian championship held in Manama. In the African championship, Angola, Egypt and Tunisia clinched places at the 2017 World Cup.

These nine nations join the ranks of both teams that have already qualified for the World Cup 2017: France (host nation and defending champion) and Qatar (Runner up in 2015). This brings to 11 the number of qualified nations.


Process of qualification and dates for the next nations to play:

The men’s Pan American Championships will take place from 10th to 20th June 2016 in Argentina and gives the chance for three teams to qualify.

In the play-offs, the representative of the Oceania region (Australia) will face the winner of the Pan American region. If they win, Australia will qualify for the World Championship 2017. If defeated, the IHF will can collect a Wild Card place, which it can then assign to a team at the end.

Once the qualification process is completed, we will know 15 of the 24 entries to the France Handball 2017 World Championships. Once we have the World Championship 2015 final rankings, the nine remaining performance-related places, will return to the European Handball Federation.

These nine places will be allocated after the European qualifiers held in June 2016, with home and away match play-offs.

The draw for these play-off games took place on Sunday in Krakow:
Sweden – Bosnia and Herzegovina
Czech Republic – Macedonia
Poland – Netherlands
Russia – Montenegro
Serbia – Hungary
Iceland – Portugal
Slovenia – Norway
Belarus – Latvia
Denmark – Austria