Brazil : the list of 16 for the World Championship


30 December 2016

Brazil unveiled the names of the 16 players called for 2017 World Championship.

Brazil head coach Washington Silva Nunes, who suceeded Jordi Ribera after the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, decided to bring in France a very similar team to the one that defied the odds during the home Olympics, with an unexpected seventh rank. Among the 14 who were in Rio last summer, only three players are missing this time.

Brazil will be one of the two first teams to begin the 2017 World Championship, as they will be facing France in the opening game, on January 11th at Paris’ AccorHotels Arena. The Seleçao will then play all their other group A games in Nantes’ Hall XXL. Brazil will successively face Poland (January 14th), Japan (January 15th), Norway (January 17th) and Russia (January 19th).

The list of 16

Goalkeepers : César Augusto de Almeida (OIF Arendal), Maik Santos (Al-Rayyan)

Field players : Gabriel Ceretta Jung (Barcelona), Haniel Lângaro (La Rioja), José Guilherme de Toledo (Wisla Plock), Oswaldo Maestro Guimaraes (Anaitasuna), Thiago Alves Ponciano (Ciudad Encantada), Thiagus Petrus Gonçalves dos Santos (Pick Szeged), Henrique Teixeira (Huesca), Joao Pedro da Silva (Chambéry), Claryston David Cordeiro Novais (ADJF/Independência Trade), Fabio Chiuffa  (Kolding), Guilherme Torriani (Vegus/Guarulhos), Lucas Cândido (Guadalajara), Alexandro Pozzer (Puerto Sagunto), Rogério Moraes (Vardar)