How to qualify for France Handball 2017?

24 teams will participate in the 25th Men’s Handball World Championship in France –and only one of those participants is confirmed to date: the host nation, France. The defending world champion normally receives automatic qualification but, as it is also France, the team that will be awarded that spot is still to be determined. It could be Qatar, as the 2015 World Championship silver medallists. – 2 teams

The remaining 22 teams will be decided in qualification events in all five continents between January and June 2016.

Due to the final ranking of the 2015 World Championship in Doha, the International Handball Federation has allocated so called continental spots and performance places, which decide the number of 2017 participants per continents.

In general, Europe, Africa, Asia and Pan-America each have three continental spots for the France Handball 2017. Those spots will be decided at the following events:
Men’s European Championship in Poland (January 2016) – 3 teams : Germany – Spain – Croatia

Men’s African Championship in Egypt (January 2016) – 3 teams : Egypt – Tunisia – Angola

Men’s Asian Championship (February 2016, Bahrain) – 3 teams : Japan – Saudi Arabia – Bahrain

Men’s Pan-American Championship (10 to 20 June 2016, Argentina) – 3 teams

In general, the three medallists of each of those events guarantee themselves a place in the France Handball 2017 – with two exceptions: If France and Qatar are among those medallists in their respective events, the fourth ranked team would then qualify for the 2017 World Championship.

The last place will be awarded as a wild card by the IHF Council. The corresponding awarding will take place upon finalization of the qualification events. – 1 team

Once the qualification process is completed, 15 of the 24 participants for France Handball 2017 will be decided. Following the final ranking of the 2015 World Championship, the nine remaining places, linked to results, will be allocated to the European Handball Federation.

The nine spots are decided on European play-off matches in June 2016 (10 to 12, 14 to 16) with home and away matches. – 9 teams : Belarus – Denmark – Hungary – Macedonia – Poland – Russia – Slovenia – Sweden – Portugal or Iceland (june 16)

    [post_type] => page
    [posts_per_page] => 3
    [post_parent] => 178
    [order] => ASC
    [orderby] => menu_order
    [post__not_in] => Array
            [0] => 188